Female Pioneers in Architecture
in Vienna

We introduce the first women who aspired to become architects!

Previous slide
Next slide

About the Female Pioneers

The first women to seek a path into the profession of architecture gained practical experience or began artistic training at the Kunstgewerbeschule (Arts and Crafts School) in Vienna. 

General admission for women to technical studies in Austria did not occur until 1919, and access to the Akademie der bildenden Künste (Academy of Fine Arts) was opened to women in 1920.

Becoming an Architect

We conducted systematic research in the archives of the three Viennese architectural education institutions for women who had begun or completed architectural education up to 1938. 204 women were identified in the course of our research.

1901
Ella Briggs

Kunstgewerbeschule

1916 Technische Hochschule Wien,
1918 Technische Hochschule München

1915
Leonie Pilewski-Karlsson


Technische Hochschule Wien

1917 Technische Hochschule Darmstadt

1915
Lilia Skala

 


Technische Hochschule Dresden

1915
Margarete Schütte-Lihotzky


Kunstgewerbeschule

1915
Friedl Dicker



Kunstgewerbeschule

1919 Bauhaus Weimar

1917
Liane Zimbler



Praxis

1920
Rosa Weiser



Kunstgewerbeschule

1921
Helene Roth



Technische Hochschule
Wien

1922
Friederike Niedermoser


Kunstgewerbeschule

1928
Waltraud Blauensteiner


Technische Hochschule Wien

1928
Hermine Frühwirth



Technische Hochschule Wien

1930
Martha Bolldorf-Reitstätter


Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien

1930
Lionore Regnier-Perin


Technische Hochschule Wien

1932
Helene Koller-Buchwieser


Technische Hochschule Wien

1935
Eugenie Pippal-Kottnig


Kunstgewerbeschule

Podcast

Listen to the diverse and varied life stories of these female architects.

Margarete Schütte–Lihotzky

The Female Pioneers in Architecture

Educational Institutions of the Architecture Pioneers in Vienna

Technische Hochschule Wien

today: Technische Universität Wien

In 1815 the k. k. polytechnische Institut (Imperial and Royal Polytechnic Institute) was founded in Vienna; from 1872 it was called Technische Hochschule (TH) Wien (Vienna University of Technology (TH)).

The general requirement for admission to a course of study at the Technische Hochschule in Vienna was a school-leaving certificate. Those with a secondary school leaving certificate did not have to take the entrance examinations in “Descriptive Geometry” and “Freehand Drawing”. 

As of 7 April 1919, women were admitted to study as regular students at technical universities in Austria. Prior to this, and only from 1913, only female teacher candidates were allowed to take the subjects of descriptive geometry and freehand drawing as extraordinary students. Guests were students who could be admitted to regular studies without the necessary formal requirements but could be admitted to individual lectures at the Institute, provided the lecturer of the lecture agreed. (Male guest auditors were allowed as early as 1826!).

By completing all the compulsory courses in the first three years, one automatically passed the first state examination. After two further years of study and with all courses passed, one could take the second state examination, a fictitious building task that had to be designed in 5 days. The degree from Technische Hochschule Wien provided the basis for becoming a civil engineer.

Following the second state examination, from 1926/27 one could attend three-semester master schools to write a doctorate. This master school emerged from the “competition” with the academy. With the ‘Anschluss’ of Austria to the Greater German Reich, the master school was abolished again in 1940.

Kunstgewerbeschule

today: Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien

In 1867, the k. k. Kunstgewerbeschule (Imperial and Royal School of Arts and Crafts) was affiliated to the Österreichisches Museum für Kunst und Industrie (Austrian Museum of Art and Industry) and offered architectural education. The Kunstgewerbeschule was accessible for women from its foundation and its first school year in 1868.

Admission to the general departments of the Kunstgewerbeschule was granted to applicants from the age of 15 (specialist classes from the age of 18) and up to the age of 24, who had graduated from a ‘Untergymnasium’ or a ‘Unterrealschule’ (both types of lower secondary schools) and could prove their talent by submitting their own work and by passing an entrance examination. 

The architecture classes, which were run from the beginning, were primarily concerned with decorative interior design, including embroidery and lace work. Students could attend various specialist classes and the teachers gave different assignments according to their interests and educational goals. 

In Josef Hoffmann’s (1899-1937) specialist class for architecture, education consisted of a comprehensive overview of arts and crafts and architecture. Students received instruction predominantly in the various areas of arts and crafts. 

With Heinrich Tessenow, specialist class for architecture (1913-1919), teaching in the subject of building construction was introduced for the first time. Oskar Strnad (1914-1935) taught general form theory in the general department from 1909, and from 1914 he led a specialist class for architecture. His class included students of architecture, as well as theatre, costume, and stage design. Josef Frank took over the teaching of building construction after Tessenow (1919-1925). Strnad’s successor was Oswald Haerdtl, Hoffmann’s was Franz Schuster. The education programme was consistently extended to all areas of architecture by Hoffmann, Tessenow and Strnad. 

It was not until 1941 that the Kunstgewerbeschule was given university status.

Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien

From 1680, the Akademie der bildenden Künste (Academy of Fine Arts) is the oldest art academy in Central Europe and the oldest place in Vienna with university-level education in architecture. 

The Academy had always argued against the admission of women, denied women the creative spirit, wanted to prevent the prevalence of dilettantism and believed that co-education was not possible. In 1913, cramped premises and the need for considerable expansion were argued in favour of admitting women. In 1919, the ‘Staatsamt für Inneres und Unterricht’ (‘State Department for the Interior and Education’) declared that the prevention of women was no longer justified. In 1920 the admission of women was decreed.

The architecture master schools of our research period were led by Friedrich Ohmann (1904-1923), Peter Behrens (1921-1936) with assistant Alexander Popp (1924-1930) and Clemens Holzmeister (1924-1938) with assistant Max Fellerer (1927-1934). Auxiliary subjects and sciences were also led by men.

Admission requirements were either the First State Examination of a technical university or a required level of previous education plus a well-scored individual examination in structural engineering. Students were only ever admitted after strict selection by the master school directors and on a trial basis for one semester. A large number of students were graduates of state trade schools. From 1923 to 1938, 343 students attended the Behrens and Holzmeister master schools of architecture. Of these, only 20 had a state examination from the TH, the remaining 323 were admitted by means of the exception clause “extraordinary student” and continuously evaluated for sufficient performance. From 1925, the period of study was set at three years. After attendance with good results, one was allowed to apply for the final examination and, if passed, was awarded the diploma of the academic architect.

Research Project

Our aim in the first phase of this project is to give visibility to the female pioneers in architecture in Austria.

Project partners

Funding sources

Mit uns in Kontakt treten

Haben Sie Fragen zu unserem Forschungsprojekt? Hinterlassen Sie einfach Ihren Namen und Ihre E-Mail Adresse, und wir melden uns in Kürze bei Ihnen.

Get in touch with us

Do you have questions about our research project? Just leave your name and email address and we will get back to you shortly.

Architektur Pionierinnen
in Wien

Wir stellen die ersten Frauen vor,
die den Architekturberuf anstrebten!

Previous
Next

Über die Pionierinnen

Die ersten Frauen, die einen Weg in den Beruf als Architektin suchten, sammelten praktische Erfahrung oder begannen mit einer künstlerischen Ausbildung an der Kunstgewerbeschule in Wien. 

Die allgemeine Zulassung für Frauen zu einem technischen Studium in Österreich erfolgte erst 1919. Der Zugang zur Akademie der bildenden Künste wurde 1920 für Frauen eröffnet.

Beginn der Ausbildung
zur Architektin in Wien

In den Archiven der drei Wiener Architekturausbildungsstätten erfolgte eine systematische Recherche nach Frauen, die bis 1938 eine Architekturausbildung begannen oder absolvierten. Im Zuge der Forschung konnten dabei 204 Frauen ermittelt werden.
In der ersten Phase stellen wir 15 Architektur Pionierinnen vor.

1901
1915
1915
1915
1915
1917
1920
1921
1922
1928
1928
1930
1930
1932
1935

Podcast

Hören Sie die unterschiedlichen und vielfältigen Lebensgeschichten dieser Architektinnen.

Margarete Schütte–Lihotzky

Die Architektur Pionierinnen

Ausbildungsstätten der Architektur Pionierinnen in Wien

Technische Hochschule Wien

heute: Technische Universität Wien

1815 wurde das k. k. polytechnische Institut in Wien gegründet, ab 1872 hieß sie Technische Hochschule (TH) Wien. 

Die allgemeine Voraussetzung für die Zulassung zu einem Studium an der Technischen Hochschule in Wien war ein Reifeprüfungszeugnis. Wer eine Realschulmatura vorweisen konnte musste die Aufnahmeprüfung „Darstellende Geometrie“ und „Freihandzeichnen“ nicht belegen. 

Für Technischen Hochschulen in Österreich erfolgte am 07.04.1919 die Zulassung von Frauen zum Studium als ordentliche Hörerinnen. Davor, und auch erst ab 1913 war es nur Lehramtskandidatinnen erlaubt, als außerordentliche Hörerinnen, die Fächer Darstellende Geometrie und Freihandzeichnen zu belegen. Gäste waren HörerInnen, welche ohne die notwendigen formalen Voraussetzungen zum regulären Studium, jedoch zu einzelnen Vorlesungen des Instituts zugelassen werden konnten, sofern der Vortragende der Vorlesung einwilligte. (Männliche Gasthörer waren schon ab 1826 erlaubt!)

Durch Absolvierung aller vorgeschriebenen Lehrveranstaltungen der ersten drei Jahre bestand man automatisch die erste Staatsprüfung. Nach zwei weiteren Studienjahren und allen bestandenen Lehrveranstaltungen konnte man die zweite Staatsprüfung ablegen, eine fiktive Bauaufgabe, die in 5 Tagen zu entwerfen war. Der Abschluss an der TH Wien bot die Grundlage Zivilingenieur zu werden.

Im Anschluss an die zweite Staatsprüfung konnte man ab 1926/27 dreisemestrige Meisterschulen besuchen, um ein Doktorat zu verfassen. Diese Meisterschule entstand aus der „Konkurrenz“ mit der Akademie. Mit dem „Anschluss“ Österreichs an das Großdeutsche Reich wurde die Meisterschule 1940 wieder abgeschafft.

Kunstgewerbeschule

heute: Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien

1867 wurde dem Österreichischen Museum für Kunst und Industrie die k. k. Kunstgewerbeschule angegliedert, die eine Architekturausbildung anbot.  Die Kunstgewerbeschule war seit der Gründung und dem ersten Schuljahr 1868 für Frauen offen.

Zugelassen in die allgemeinen Abteilungen der Kunstgewerbeschule wurden BewerberInnen ab dem 15. Lebensjahr (Fachklassen ab dem 18. Lebensjahr) und bis zum 24. Lebensjahr, die ein Untergymnasium oder eine Unterrealschule absolviert hatten und durch Vorlage eigenhändiger Arbeiten sowie durch eine Aufnahmeprüfung ihre Begabung nachweisen konnten. 

Die Architekturklassen, die ab Beginn geführt wurden, beschäftigten sich vorrangig mit dekorativer Raumausstattung, dazu gehörten Stickereien und Spitzenarbeiten. Die Studierenden konnten verschiedene Fachklassen frequentieren und die Lehrenden gaben unterschiedliche Aufgaben nach ihren Interessen und Ausbildungszielen.
In der Fachklasse für Architektur von Josef Hoffmann (1899-1937) wurde eine umfassende Sicht auf Kunsthandwerk und Architektur in die Ausbildung eingebracht und Studierende erhielten überwiegend Unterricht in den verschiedenen Bereichen des Kunstgewerbes. 

Mit Heinrich Tessenow, Fachklasse für Architektur (1913-1919) begann erstmals auch der Unterricht im Fach Baukonstruktion. Oskar Strnad (1914-1935) unterrichtete ab 1909 in der allgemeinen Abteilung allgemeine Formenlehre, ab 1914 leitet er eine Fachklasse für Architektur. In seiner Klasse fanden sich Studierende der Architektur, sowie zu Theater, Kostüm und Bühnenbild. Josef Frank übernahm die Baukonstruktionslehre nach Tessenow (1919-1925). Nachfolger von Strnad war Oswald Haerdtl, jener von Hoffmann war Franz Schuster. Die Ausbildung wurde von Hoffmann, Tessenow und Strnad konsequent auf alle Gebiete der Architektur ausgedehnt. 

Erst 1941 erhielt die Kunstgewerbeschule Hochschulstatus.

Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien

Die Akademie der Bildenden Künste ist ab 1680 die älteste Kunsthochschule Mitteleuropas und älteste Stätte in Wien mit hochschulmäßigem Architekturunterricht. 

Die Akademie argumentierte seit jeher gegen die Zulassung von Frauen, sprach Frauen den schöpferischen Geist ab, wollte das Überhandnehmen des Dilettantismus verhindern und meinte, dass die Koedukation nicht möglich sei. 1913 wurde mit beengten Räumlichkeiten und einem notwendigen beträchtlichen Ausbau bei der Zulassung von Frauen argumentiert. 1919 erklärte das Staatsamt für Inneres und Unterricht die Verhinderung von Frauen als nicht mehr gerechtfertigt, 1920 wurde die Zulassung von Frauen verordnet.

Die Architektur Meisterschulen im untersuchten Forschungszeitraum wurden geleitet von Friedrich Ohmann (1904-1923), Peter Behrens (1921-1936) mit Assistent Alexander Popp (1924-1930) sowie Clemens Holzmeister (1924-1938) mit Assistent Max Fellerer (1927-1934). Auch Hilfsfächer und -wissenschaften wurden von Männern geleitet.

Aufnahmevoraussetzung war entweder die Erste Staatsprüfung einer Technischen Hochschule oder ein erforderliches Ausmaß an Vorbildung plus gut bewertete Einzelprüfung aus Hochbau. Studierende wurden immer nur nach strenger Auswahl durch die Meisterschulleiter und probeweise für ein Semester aufgenommen. Ein Großteil waren AbsolventInnen von Staatsgewerbeschulen. Von 1923 bis 1938 besuchten 343 Studierende die Architekturmeisterschulen Behrens und Holzmeister. Davon hatten nur 20 eine Staatsprüfung der TH vorzuweisen, die restlichen 323 wurden mittels des Ausnahmeparagrafen „außerordentliche HörerIn“ aufgenommen und laufend auf ausreichende Leistung evaluiert. Ab 1925 war die Studienzeit mit drei Jahren festgelegt. Nach dem Besuch mit gutem Erfolg durfte man sich für die Schlussprüfung bewerben und bei Bestehen wurde das Diplom eines akademischen Architekten verliehen.

Forschungsprojekt

Unser Anliegen ist, die Architektur Pionierinnen in Österreich, in der ersten Phase in Wien, sichtbar zu machen.

Fördergeber:innen

Mit uns in Kontakt treten

Haben Sie Fragen zu unserem Forschungsprojekt? Hinterlassen Sie einfach Ihren Namen und Ihre E-Mail Adresse, und wir melden uns in Kürze bei Ihnen.